15,000 magnificent square metres – 2,000 stunning exhibits – 1,300 moving years
With the opening of the new DomQuartier on 17 May 2014, Salzburg founded a cultural highlight in the heart of the city: the former centre of the archbishop’s power, the complex consisting of palace and cathedral, completed by St. Peter’s Abbey, was once again opened to the public as a complete tour for the first time in 200 years.
The powerful archbishops began to transform the city of Salzburg into a Baroque jewel more than 400 years ago. Impressed by the opulent grandiosity of the influential Papal States of Rome, the capital of Salzburg’s diocese was sure to blossom as the diocese was incredibly wealthy thanks to its trade in salt, gold and other raw materials. The biggest architects of the time were brought to Salzburg and created a city planning masterpiece that is treasured and protected today as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Follow in the footsteps of the archbishops for the first time in 200 years
Prince Archbishop Guidobald von Thun was one of the most important builders of Baroque Salzburg and shaped the city during his 14-year rule (1654–1668). He ordered the construction of the cathedral archways, organised the design of the Residenzplatz (Residence Square) and Domplatz (Cathedral Square) and also built an art gallery – today’s Long Gallery at St. Peter’s Abbey. The new DomQuartier Salzburg makes it possible to walk around the Domplatz on the “upper level” and grants visitors new and wonderful views of the city and the surrounding mountains, as well as an unfamiliar and magnificent glimpse into its cultural heart. Stories of power, art history and architecture are presented in a unique interplay.